As those of you who have to put up with me regularly already know (as for those of you who don’t, cherish your bliss), I am in the midst of maaaaaaany projects. A sampling, if you will:

  • full-time job as a medical researcher
  • 4-year part-time contract as a medical ESL teacher
  • volunteer chef for several local homeless shelters
  • volunteer maintenance/remodeling for a battered women’s sanctuary
  • applying to MD/PhD programs on the side
  • failing to have any further social life

It keeps one on one’s toes. Then my labmate waltzes in last week to say: “Hey, so mariachi band practice at 8. We need violin. Be there.” And I couldn’t very well refuse, now, could I? After all, the first scientific principle arose from the music of pipes.

The long and the short of it is that in the space of 3 days, I’ve found myself in performance and the proud wearer of a quite stylish red sash, with the more dubious prospects of moño, sombrero, and full charro looming. Still, what’s a party if you don’t dress for it, eh?

