Commencement was today, so congratulations to all of my no-longer-fellow students!  The address was given by Steven Chu, our secretary of energy. It was pretty cool to have a physicist on the stand. It was also pretty cool to have a jazz swing band for the music (they even did James Bond), though my Art School friends had a banjo do Pomp and Circumstance. Of course, now it’s all packing up and putting your goodbyes in boxes for another year.

Good luck out there, folks.

By unpopular demand, here are some pictures of the city. Really, I don’t walk about with a camera on me, so these show a definite bias towards the margins of my experience. 50-70 hours of what I see each week is inside the hospital, and I don’t think you want to see any of that (although I think I may have got my mitts on some blinding hot CatL data, with a bit of luck). The zoo and gardens are pretty much where I go for the occasional break.

Right now, I’ve got half my things boxed and need to get cracking on the rest. Papers are piled, clothes are pressed, books are stacked, but my sills are still overrun with effervescent flora, and to organize one section always begets a second mess. Again, with a bit of luck, it will all fall into place in time for an early morning start to my Eastward pilgrimage. The Adventure Car has been babied for the trip with an oil change, tire checks, and a vacuuming, but since my it has no stereo, I’m pimping it out with speakers and a web of laptop cords to make the 12+ hours of driving bearable. Wish me luck.

