Deck the halls with books of science
fa la la la laaa la laa laa la
‘Tis the season for revision
fa la la la laaa la laa laa la
yawn we now are tired of reading
fa la laa la la laa laa laa la
troll the ancient scrolls of learning
fa la la la laaa la laa laa la.

To be honest, though, I have had a few adventures lately, such as hitting the town for the convergence of St. George’s Day and Shakespeare’s birthday (there was a dearth of sausages inna bun, but I did get a lemon ice and a ticket to the Globe tomorrow), but all of us have been spending an inordinate amount of time in the library or elsewise swotting. I actually lost track of the days of the week because they were beginning to look the same. I guess I do now have a stomach of galvinized steel, though, since I realized over lunch yesterday that I was reading about Opisthorcis while eating fish pie. Today’s lunch break was less ironic but just as picturesque, as I was going over notes on geohelminths and filarial nematodes. Today the cafeteria had cottage pie, so at least it wasn’t Taenia saginata or scrapie, right? Still, nothing like a good whipworm hyperinfection photograph to whip up that apetite.

which is more impressive: the piper's trunkhose or the scholarly wrought iron mole?

which is more impressive: the piper's trunkhose or the scholarly wrought iron mole?

More pleasant adventures have been wandering out and about now that the weather’s bucking a bit. It was gorgeous all last week, but yesterday we had rain, and overnight the city exploded. Now I pass several small jungles on the way to Waterloo where I could have sworn there were clear courtyards not long ago.

strolling on St. George's Day outside the Tate

strolling on St. George's Day outside the Tate

Before the rains came, fortunately, the morris dancers and jesters had their turn, and I took most of the day off to watch them and wander around on the strand, picking up more pipestems, geodes, and pot shards. I gave up on the bones, because there are just too many, and a number are more recent than I’d like to think about. Still, it’s always good fun to go muck about under the bridges or along the flood walls and see what’s there. Incidentally, the doodads in the header are all things I brought back from an excursion last week. I’ll probably have to leave most things here when I go back to the states, but I have plans for a few pieces.

Thingfinders

In the course of doing and avoiding work, I’ve also discovered that I can give a pretty decent haircut (can’t speak for the back, since I only have one mirror, but the front looks good) and that part of the Strand campus sits on an old Roman baths. I don’t usually get lost in buildings, but the Strand campus is a special hive of missing signs and dead ends, but one could learn as much getting lost there as spending a day in the Library. Personally I’m a huge fan of the DNA window in the chapel.

The baths are just to the right of the workman. All else is a mystery.

The baths are just to the right of the workman. All else is a mystery.

Well, perhaps this past week hasn’t been quite so mundane as I thought. I’ll let you know how the Globe goes. I suspect I’ll need it after the protein review lecture.

