After a second exciting day at the Natural History Museum, I changed tack and went to the National Theatre for the opening night of Wole Soyinka’s Death and the King’s Horseman. It was incredible. Furthermore, I was talking to the man sitting next to me during intermission, and it turns out he was working in Nigeria in 1954 and had to look into the actual incident. His contact gave him the letter from the district officer ordering the arrest of the horseman, and he still has it. The horseman apparently cursed them all for not letting him die, and they all suffered one way or another–the officer with the letter, for instance, was paralyzed. I feel sorry for the officer, but I’m not sure about the others. European occupation was such a succession of wrongs that it’s difficult to sort out the good from the bad. But reality aside, that was the best play I’ve seen yet.

