I’ve been sifting through Pubmed and Springerlink for research articles on all different aspect of liver cell therapy lately. It’s a surprisingly fun task, since the online format allows me to indulge in all of those little tangents by reading an abstract or two whenever it strikes my fancy. I’ve already found some possible novel applications for MSCs and HSCs in hepatocyte transfer or other cell therapies for the liver, just by stumbling over papers on slightly different topics. The way most scientific papers are titled, you almost don’t need to read the abstract, so I’ve been able to keep tabs on a few different fields while scrolling through journals. Closer to the deadline, that will be dangerous, since I’ll need to buckle down and focus, but it’s a worthwhile diversion in the meantime. Also, epub ahead of print has got to be the most wonderful invention ever; some of the most informative articles I’ve found aren’t scheduled for print until after my essay is due! It’s hard to imagine what a handicap lack of communication must have put on research even 20 years ago, which makes me wonder what our next paradigm shift might be…

Anyway, re PubMed: here’s to looking at you, kid.

