This article from Doctors Without Borders (MSF) caught my eye just now during my scheduled perusal of the site. I only check the site occasionally because, unfortunately, although MSF and other international aid organizations work round the clock and the names and dates of the articles change, the global situation stays about the same. The devastation of war, individual and national poverty, lack of sanitation, and the current structure of the pharmaceutical industry all ensure continuing health crises around the world. I’m usually on the optimistic side of realism, and I don’t think we will see a resolution to these inequalities in my lifetime. However, we can make a start, and the MSF article responds to an interesting proposal from the CEO of GlaxoSmithKline that could be a step in the right direction. As MSF notes, the proposal is insufficient to meet all needs, and funding would have to be revamped to make this financially feasible for the drug companies, but it is a start. Go check it out and see what you think.

