Even on my days off, I like to be up and about and doing things, so aside from exploring Brixton, I decided to experiment with my supper. Because I have very little experience cooking meat (by the time I was interested, that was already my brother’s domain), I had picked up Madhur Jaffrey’s Indian Cookery down at the Oxfam bookstore. It’s a great book, and I actually ended up reading about half of it over coffee, just getting a feel for the general methods and whatnot, so that I’d know enough to be able to ignore the recipes. I’ve been cooking turkey most nights (I’d never been able to buy turkey steaks before–can you blame me for getting a little enthusiastic?), but tonight I added a version of khichri. It’s not as dry as Jaffrey’s khili hui khichri, and the spices are a little different, as well. I really enjoyed it, and am sad that I have to wait until tomorrow night to eat the leftovers. If you’re interested:

Wash a cup of rice in several changes of water, until it stays relatively clear. Let it sit for about half an hour, then drain. Also drain a small can of peas. In a saucepan, heat about a half tablespoon of butter. When it’s hot, drop in 3 or 4 green cardamom pods, a liberal amount of garam masala, some turmeric, and a dash of nutmeg. Sauté  for a few seconds, then add the rice and peas and saute for a minute or so. Then add about 1 1/3 cups water and a few pinches of sea salt, bring to a boil, and cook covered on low heat for about 15 minutes.

Next time, I might try a similar method with sultanas and cashews. Oh, and a bit of trivia: cilantro = coriander. In the UK, you just have to specify whether you want the leaves or the seeds.

*I forgot to mention that this is meant to go along with another dish (I did turkey rogan josh). If you want to serve it by itself, you might want to use more salt and maybe some chilis.

