I just found out that my classmate, Austin Cloyd, is among those dead in Monday’s shooting. We were not particularly close friends – she moved to Blacksburg our senior year and we didn’t have much time to get to know one another – but she was bright, funny, and extremely caring (not to mention drop-dead gorgeous). We were in NHS and AP environmental science together, and everyone enjoyed working with her; she was just a good person to be around.

Austin, there is nothing I can say that will bring you back, little I can do for your memory or your family. And though you can not know, you are in my thoughts and heart, along with your loved ones. Please find what peace you can, and though no one can replace you, we will try to continue your work.

Peace be with you.

Requiescat in pace.

