In her essay How to Tame a Wild Tongue, Gloria Anzaldúa creates a portrait of true linguistic terrorism. In defense of Chicanos’ own dialects and multilingualism, Anzaldúa appeals to both her subjects and their perceived oppressors, though she clearly marks some sections of the essay as exclusively for her Chicano readers. The blend of Spanish dialects and English gives the reader a sense of the intimacy of her subject matter, and the author skillfuly conveys the impact of being denied one’s own language, home, and very identity. A powerful writer, Anzaldúa presents a moving case agains linguistic homogenization and ends with a surprising, bitter declaration of war against the current monolingual system.

The Williams rhetorical triangle will be up as soon as I get myself to a computer from which I can upload word documents. I think I can actually make the visual triangle.

Rhetor

 

Subject             Audience

